Key Stage 3

Key Stage 3 (Year 7 – 8)

Key Stage 3, consisting of Years 7, 8 and later year 9, has a broad and balanced curriculum, which is based on the guidelines established by the National Curriculum of England.

The major emphasis in these years is on transition into the senior school and the development of key skills required for successful completion of Key Stages 4 and 5.

Compulsory British Curriculum Subjects at Key Stage 3 are:

  • Mathematics
  • English
  • Science
  • Information, Communication and Technology (ICT)
  • Aesthetic and Performing Arts (Drama, Music and Art)
  • Physical Education
  • Geography
  • History
  • Modern Foreign Languages (Mandarin or Bahasa)

While Key Stage 2 curriculum has a broad focus and most content is delivered by one home room teacher, Key Stage 3 begins to utilise the expertise of content specialists in a middle school approach to curriculum delivery. Primarily two specialists, Humanities and Maths/Science, begin to prepare students for IGCSE to be studied in year 10 and 11.

Tests and Assessments:

Students are assessed regularly throughout Key Stage 3 and their progress is monitored against their target in each subject to ensure they are working to their full potential at all times and working towards their IGCSE courses.